Bruce Jenner and Steve Prefontaine

image

Bruce Jenner and Steve Prefontiane were room mates during the 1972 Munich Olympics Games.

Bruce Jenner was 22 at the time and of course, as he never expected to actually go to the Games. He also never had a passport. If you’ve seen pictures or videos of Jenner’s race, you can see he nowhere at the trials. He in fact, wasnt even ranked in the top 10 and made it on the team thanks to the last event, the 1500m. Jenner was in fifth place behind Steve Gough and Andrew Pettes. He had to make up a 19-second gap on Gough in the men’s 1500. Crazy enough he went off finishing 22 seconds ahead of the other runners to make the Olympic team earning third place overall.

Before rooming in Munich, Jenner and Steve roomed on Olso, Norway to get acclimated.

image

Here is the folling quote from Jenner’s interveiw from NBC OlympicTalk.

“So I didn’t know any of these guys. I had heard of them and saw Prefontaine run, but I didn’t know the guy beforehand.
So we go to Norway, and let me tell you, those guys knew how to have a good time. I was going to bed early, and these guys were out partying. One night Pre had a little bit too much, and we like poured him into bed that night. The next morning, he got up and did the hardest workout I think I’ve ever seen in my life. I was shocked.
Him and Frank Shorter, and all these people, were having such a great time. My thinking was oh my God, they’re so happy they made it on the Olympic Team and they’re not worried enough about what’s going to happen once they get to Munich.
But then Shorter wins the marathon, and Pre had a great 5000m race even though he wound up fourth.
When I woke up on the morning of the terrorist attack, Pre was the guy who had just gone out for a morning run and told me something’s going on out there. He heard somebody got shot. He said you won’t believe what’s happened outside. He was the one that broke the news to me.”

In the 1972 Games, Jenner went into get tenth in the decathlon.

Steve, who set the American record in the 5000 at the 1972 Olympic Trials placed 4th.

image

Leave a Reply

